Down and Ow

June 9, 2008

I’m having a horrid flare. You know the drill– insomnia, pain screeching through every nerve ending, exhaustion, fogginess. I’ve given up on trying to figure it all out. Well, actually, I’m lying– I’m still trying to figure it all out.

I was up at 4:30 this morning, hurting and sleepless, so I did some searching for fibro information on the Web and found this great site— 100 tips for coping with fibro. I like the author’s route of changing diet and nutrition, and of going “au naturel” as far as medications. I’m going to start taking OPCs, which are a type of antioxidents, and I’m also going to try cutting out foods from the nightshade family for a while to see if it makes a difference. This includes tomatoes, potatoes, green peppers and eggplants. Sigh…no more baba ganouj.

I’ll keep you posted on this. In the meantime, I’d love to hear anyone and everyone’s best tips for dealing with fibro. Here are some things that I can’t do with out, and one thing that I want really, really badly.

Bath Therapy Bath Salts: You can get these at any drug store, at Target, Wally World, etc. A long soak in a bath of this stuff really does help me.

Heating Pad: I named my heating pad Antonio Banderas, which makes me feel a little less old ladyish when I lie on it. I really hate heating pads, but it does bring relief.

Lidoderm Pain Patches (by prescription): Make sure it’s Lidoderm, as some of the others have um, killed people. This is great for dulling pain in a localized area. You’re only supposed to use one at a time, but I often cut mine in half so that I can get relief in more than one place at once.

Massage: Can’t afford this often, but a really good massage therapist can work wonders sometimes. One day, when I’ve one the Mega Millions Jackpot, I’ll hire a live-in personal masseuse. I’ll call him Antonio Banderas, and change my heating pad’s name to Bud or Mac or something.

Love: Being around kind and loving beings makes my life gentler, and often eases things. My boyfriend and my cat make me feel all warm and fuzzy inside, and I’ve recently gotten a new little puppy that sits on my lap and warms my heart. Gentleness really does help combat the harshness of daily life.

Memory Foam Mattress Topper and Pillow: These haven’t helped so much lately, but for a few years there, I would not have been without them.

Osim IMedic Massage Chair: At about $2000, I simply can’t afford one of these, but this chair is amazing. It’s available at Brookstone, and I recommend that you try one out if you have a store nearby. Honestly, it’s fantastic, and I’ve actually driven to Brookstone a few times to use one when I’ve been hurting badly. My reason for this has been to experiment, to see if it makes a difference when I’m hurting a lot. It does make a difference– it really does. Now, if Brookstone would just gift me with a chair in exchange for this plug, I’d really appreciate it.

If I think of any other things that you haven’t heard a thousand times, I’ll let you now. In the meantime, what helps you?

8 Responses to “Down and Ow”

  1. Shauna Says:

    I understood completely when you wrote about your heating pad and naming it!! Love that! My heating pad is soft and cuddly, and I can’t start my day without it. I have about an hour of needing that heating pad or the day can’t start. I even will get up an hour early to do this.

    I need a name for it though….hmmmm

    Love your Blog!!!


  2. Hi Shauna– Your heating pad sounds like a dear friend– please, let me know what you name it!
    I was thinking of “Heat Ledger,” since Heath was such a hottie, but since he’s no longer alive, that may be depressing.

    I may have to try your method of waking up early and using Antonio in the morning. That may make a big difference in my day. Thanks!


  3. I was just diagnosed with Fibro this past week. I’ll be reading your blog often. 🙂


  4. I was taught the use of Bath Therapy/Bath Salts years ago by a massage therapist. I find it really works. I use either regular Epson salts with the water as hot as I can stand it or a green mineral liquid—don’t remember the name—that I can get at the health food store.

    Good luck finding relief!


  5. @ QOPHF: I’ve spent my coffee sipping time this morning looking at your blog– I love it! I too am menopausally impaired, and I write about that stuff on my other blog.

    So sorry about your Fibro diagnosis. You seem to have quite an active life, and I hope it doesn’t throw too much of a wrench in the works. May all your flares be small ones. I’ll be back to your blog soon.

    @ ((SSN)): Bath Therapy is often a life saver for me. I don’t follow package directions– when I’m hurting badly, I just dump about a third of the container into the water and float for about an hour!

  6. Deanna Says:

    I just discovered your blog so I haven’t had a chance to read all your posts yet. I was diagnosed in 1994. I made the decision early to not take meds. I couldn’t tell the difference between the side effects of the medicine and the effects of the fibro.

    My husband’s aunt made me several buckwheat pillows that I could microwave and use as I needed. I like these pillows because I can put them on aching spots and fall asleep (unlike a heating pad). Another thing that is very helpful is the swimming pool. Even on days when I can’t “swim”, just the simple act of treading water helps me keep my muscles moving some.

    Most of all I have discovered that if I can maintain control over this fibro instead of it maintaining control over me… it is a good day!


  7. Deanna, I’ve made the same decision about the meds. I DO notice a huge difference by not taking one, but I’m hanging in there. Today, I’m headed to the health food store, and I’m buying some anti-oxidants and maybe some neem to see if those make a difference.

    The buckwheat pillows sound great- I may have to build some of those!

    Your attitude is the one I’ve tried to maintain throughout this whole thing, but another one that I’m learning is to bend with it and not trying to control anything! I think it’s called “going with the flow,” but sometimes I just hate the way this flows!

    I hope you’re doing well, and I appreciate your input!

  8. Rebecca Says:

    I love organic buckwheat pillows, too! They really do the trick and give you such a nice warming heat to relax your muscles.

    Thank you for your post about what you have found that works for your pain. They are all very applicable to almost anyone.

Leave a Reply

