Dear Bedding Gods, Thank You for My Memory Foam Pillow.

March 11, 2008

I hurt. Everywhere. It’s not funny anymore. This flare has lasted waaaaaay too long. I was lamenting to another blogger (Little Miss, who has an excellent fibro blog) that even the weight of my blankets have been causing pain when I sleep at night. Forget the fact that I can hardly sleep in the first place, what with my brain waves jiggling at about 200 miles per hour all night long, this new development strikes me as sleep disturbance overkill.

BUT….I was going through some moving boxes today (yes, I’ve lived with Tom since July, and have yet to completely unpack), and I found my old friend, my memory foam pillow. I used to get excited by attending a rock concert, going out to dinner or  traveling to new and exotic places (like Indiana). Now, the thing that brings me more joy than the prospect of having Antonio Banderas standing nude on my doorstep is a damned pillow. I bought it on Overstock.com a few years ago, and it is the most comfortable, wonderful, smooshable item I’ve ever owned. Tom is all of those things too, but technically, I don’t own him.

I can’t wait to pretend to sleep tonight!

4 Responses to “Dear Bedding Gods, Thank You for My Memory Foam Pillow.”

  1. Mary Says:

    I laughed when I read the last sentence in your post. For some reason I still look forward to going to bed at night. I know that I’m not going to sleep well, but I still have hope deep down that I might! Crazy…

    Mary

    For some reason, naps are much more restful these days than night time sleep. But there are those rare nights when magically, the planets align right, the bedding weight is distributed properly, my brain waves calm down and all is right with the world. I think those kinds of nights are what give me hope. I never thought I’d be so appreciative of a good night’s sleep!

  2. Heather Says:

    Moonie, if you have an Aldi’s near you keep a check on their weekly special purchases. Last year they had a memory foam mattress pad for like $19.99 or something cheap. It really made a big difference. I am dying to get a Temper-pedic bed, but will have to wait until I win the Powerball!

    Heather, I have one. Another Overstock purchase, but it wasn’t $19.99. You lucked out! A Tempur-Pedic sounds heavenly. If I win the Powerball, I’ll get one for each of us.

  3. thegirlfromtheghetto Says:

    OMG, I have the same pillow and it is my BFF! How could you have went all of these months without it?

    I don’t know how I did without it. I should have dug through those moving boxes for it on day one.

    Oh, it’s heavenly to have my little foam friend back!

  4. Laurel Says:

    I have the same pillow also. I couldn’t live without. Right now we are on holiday in Arizona and while down here bought a memory foam mattress topper for the bed. We can’t sleep without it. Now we have to figure out how to pack it and make it small enough to fit in our vehicle to drive home. Oh the joys of life!

    I love it! You should do a product endorsement for them. Roll the topper up, tie it to the roof of your car, and put those big magnets with the company’s name on the sides of your vehicle. It would probably pay for your vacation!

    My mother’s vacationing in Yuma, AZ right now. She keeps calling and bragging about the temperature.

Leave a Reply

