Pity Party. My Place. Right Now.

November 10, 2007

I am so sick. This is crazy. It feels like I’ve been bitten by a Tsetse fly or something. I’m sleeping all the time, my brain’s not working, and I’m so weak that I feel like an inflatable raft that’s had all of the air sucked out of it– I’m just a limp, useless thing right now, a noodle on a sofa. Frustrating.

I’d made a decision not to take the Lyrica anymore, because I no longer have insurance, and I just can’t afford it. But I was so achy earlier that I took one, and it’s helping a bit. Tom put a Lidoderm patch between my shoulders, and it’s masking some of the pain, which is great. I’ll take fake relief right now, thank you very much.

It just occurred to me that my Fibromyalgia flares up the worst in November. In the past, I’ve been in the hospital and on leave of absences twice, at exactly this time of year. I’m rolling with it this time, but I dread thinking that this is the same thing, or that it’s going to effect me in the same way this year.

This is like the flu times ten, without the fever. I just had to whine a little.

13 Responses to “Pity Party. My Place. Right Now.”

  1. Little Miss Says:

    I’d say “I hope you feel better soon” but I know how empty those words are to us with fibro. One thing I got from my chiropractor for pain that he uses is Biofreeze. It’s hella expensive – a small tube cost me $14. But it works and doesn’t stink like BenGay. There is a BenGay with no odor, but I haven’t tried it. I’m resisting taking meds or seeking a doctor to even get me some. The side effects for me just aren’t worth it.

    I think there’s something to the weather change that impacts fibro.

    I like parties. In fact, today is my daughter’s birthday! I’m saving up my energy for the dinner event. 🙂


  2. I never thought I’d say this, but I’m so happy– I think it really is the flu!

  3. Little Miss Says:

    Really? Awesome! (Outsiders just don’t get it, do they?) 🙂


  4. Heehee. This made me laugh, then cough, then laugh.

  5. tammyrenee Says:

    wet noodle on a couch? don’t you mean wet noodle on an olive green sofa with no arm rest on one side? he, he, he, he

    C’mon! Sometimes you just HAVE to laugh about SOMETHING!


  6. Or, “wet noodle on love seat because sofa flew away.” Sigh…which is really what I am right now. I am laughing. On the inside. 🙂

  7. ואידך זיל גמור Says:

    Hi,
    Just discovered ur wonderful Blog. Hope u dont mind that I’ve added it to my Blogroll.
    Im completing these days exactly 3 years of Fibro. What u write sounds like it was for me in the first year…Jesus, I dont envy u ):
    I know u heard all the advice before, but I assure u- it can get better with time. Im not cured, but I learned to control it and Im up and about, well-most of the time.
    The hard work is to learn how to listen to urself and letting go of trying to control. It was a long trial and error process for me and not easy on the Psychological side-but doable.
    Be strong!


  8. Hello! So glad you stopped by. This is my whiny blog, where I go just to rant and moan and groan about Fibro. I do try to keep it separate from the rest of my life, and not put all my attention on it (which can be difficult at times). You’re right about giving up control over it– I’ve found it to be a waste of time. You sound like you’ve really learned how to live with it in a positive way. Can you give me the link to your blog? And I’m honored that you’ve added me to your Blogroll. Take care!

  9. ואידך זיל גמור Says:

    I hardly write about Fibro anymore – its just this narcissistic escape….u might get bored. But here it is:
    http://veidachzilgemor.wordpress.com/

  10. ואידך זיל גמור Says:

    Just wrote a new post about it, marking 3 years-thanks to u..


  11. It’s a GREAT post. I linked to it on my blog. Hope that’s okay.

  12. marialeigh Says:

    I found your blogsite through a Google alert I’d set up for Fibro – and I have to say it’s wonderful. Thank you for such inspiring words, and a change in perspective, that I can definitely relate to.


  13. marialeigh: I’m glad you like it- thank you!

Leave a Reply

