The Car Trip: A New Challenge

September 19, 2007

Okay, I know you’re not supposed to drink and drive, but lately, I can’t even ride in a car without a little whine. Tom and I drove to the lake a couple of weekends ago. It’s about an hour and a half from here, and as our journey progressed, I could feel burning pain settling into my hips, back and legs. It increased with each mile, and I spent the last half of the drive in tears, arranging my pillow and trying to find a comfortable position. The position I found was on my hand and knees on the passenger seat, facing backwards (“Don’t you DARE laugh at me,” I told Tom). Hey, whatever works. So there I was on all fours, my face near the window, hair blowing crazily in the wind. If I’d had a collar on, someone would surely have mistaken me for a sheepdog.

When we got to the lake, I walked around for a while, and started to feel better. Soon the pain level was back to “simmer.” But these experiences make me almost phobic about repeat performances. Today, I’m driving to Columbus to see my mother, and I’m really afraid of the consequences. I try to think positively about all of this, but there’s never any way of knowing if I’m going to be out of commission for a few days afterward or if I’ll be just fine. I think it’s the not knowing that bothers me most. But hey, that’s Fibro. We’ll see how it goes.

4 Responses to “The Car Trip: A New Challenge”

  1. chessnoid Says:

    Cute dog. Sorry for your pain. Good luck on your next trip.

  2. Little Miss Says:

    Of course, I can relate exactly. I go on trips with my mother and try to tell her how I physically cannot sit for long periods of time like that. I get the deer in the headlights expression in response. What makes my feel worse (like a complete loser) is my mother is 40 years older than me (87) and gets around better than I do.

    When I was working in Seattle, it was an hour bus ride in stop and go traffic. Same thing. Driving myself – it’s worse. I think that’s what led to my recent flare up – driving.

    And at work, they have this meeting area with a coffee table and hard chairs and we’re supposed to lean forward and put our laptops on a table that doesn’t even come up to our knees. When I first told my boss I physically could not do that, he looked at me so strangely. In addition to the Fibro, I have degeneration in my L2 and L3 discs so that doubles the pain. The solution was only to sit on the floor. Uh, try getting up from that after twenty minutes. Well, you already know how that goes. 🙂


  3. I had some guys at a place I worked build me a platform to raise this optical instrument I used. I knew that just raising it to eye level would decrease my pain. They were actually very sweet about it, and even painted daisies on it for me! Sometimes, a small accommodation helps, sometimes it doesn’t, but I still haven’t figured out what can be done to wipe “that look” off of people’s faces!

Leave a Reply

